Download The Official T20 World Cup App

Find Out More

Dane van Niekerk to lead experienced South Africa squad in T20 World Cup

Dane van Niekerk, who hasn't played a T20I since February 2019 due to injury, is back at the helm to lead an experienced unit in the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia.

The 26-year-old Niekerk proved her fitness during the Women's Big Bash League, playing 11 games for Sydney Sixers scoring 125 runs and picking up nine wickets.

She will lead an experienced unit at the 2020 event in Australia, featuring the likes of Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp and Trisha Chetty among others. As many as 11 players from this squad also featured in their 2018 T20 World Cup unit.

"It's a group that has the talent, youth, experience and desire to help us win the T20 World Cup," team coach Hilton Moreeng said.

"We have assembled a team that we feel can hold their own against anyone in the world and it will be important that we carry that belief into the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. The players we have at our disposal are some of the best and most promising players in women’s cricket globally and we will make sure that we give them the best tools to succeed on this big stage."

While the team boasts plenty of experience, there is also some young talent, including teenagers Nonkululeko Mlaba, a left-arm spinner, and Nadine de Klerk, an all-rounder. The squad features no uncapped players.

The squad announced is identical to the one South Africa will take to New Zealand for the three-match ICC Women's Championship ODI series, starting 25 January.

South Africa, who have never won the title, will kick off their campaign against England in Perth on 23 February.

Squad: Dane Van Niekerk (c), Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Mignon Du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Sune Luus, Chloe Tryon (vc), Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Tumi Sekhukhune, Trisha Chetty, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Nadine De Klerk, Nondumiso Shangase