International Cricket Council

T20 World Cup final: Everything you need to know

Everything you need to know about the teams, venue and match timings of the final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021.

We began with 16 teams and now, 44 matches later, the final two are left standing. The ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 is set for a cracking finish with trans-Tasman rivals Australia and New Zealand facing off for the World Cup trophy. 

This is New Zealand's first appearance in the final of the men's T20 World Cup. Australia were runners-up in 2010. Either way, there will be a first-time winner crowned on 14 November. 

The teams made the final after spectacular chases in the semi-finals, coming from behind against opponents who had topped their respective groups, and who also were No.1 and No.2 on the rankings.

The teams last met in a tournament decider in the 2015 Cricket World Cup, with Australia walking away victors. Since then, New Zealand have made it to the 2019 finals, where they narrowly lost to England on boundary count, and beat India for the ICC Test Championship in 2021.

The fixture

  • The match: New Zealand v Australia, final
  • Time: 6.00pm local, Sunday 14 November
  • Venue: Dubai International Stadium

The teams


ICC T20I ranking: No.4

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wk), Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Road to the final: New Zealand have been disciplined and consistent through the tournament, not having lost a game since their opening match defeat against Pakistan. Their bowling attack has been one of the best in the tournament, adjusting to conditions in the UAE well, and they have been expertly rotated by captain Kane Williamson. While there has been no standout batter, several of them have put their hand up at crucial points, and have been especially effective at the death. In the semi-final against England, it was Jimmy Neesham and Daryl Mitchell who swung hard in the final overs and knocked out the No.1 side.

Video Match Highlights 10 Nov 21
Match Highlights: England v New Zealand


ICC T20I ranking: No.6

Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Road to the final: Australia opened their campaign with a tight win against South Africa but two games later were brushed aside by England. However, big wins in the rest of the Super 12 stage boosted their net run rate and they made it to the semis. There, against Pakistan, they were firmly on the back foot despite a brisk knock from David Warner, when Matthew Wade took on Shaheen Afridi with three sixes in the 19th over to finish a thrilling game.  

Video Match Highlights 11 Nov 21
Match Highlights: Pakistan v Australia

Match officials

On-field umpires: Marais Erasmus and Richard Kettleborough
TV umpire: Nitin Menon
Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle
Fourth umpire: Kumar Dharmasena

Reserve day

There is a reserve day for the final. 

Every effort will be made to complete the match on the scheduled day with any necessary reduction in overs taking place. Only if the minimum number of overs necessary to constitute a match (10 overs to the side batting second) cannot be bowled on the scheduled day will the match be completed on the reserve day.

If a match starts on the scheduled day and overs are reduced following an interruption but no further play is possible, the match will resume on the reserve day at the point where the last ball was played.

In case of a tie

If the final is tied, a Super Over is played. If the Super Over is a tie, then subsequent Super Overs shall be played until there is a winner. Unless exceptional circumstances arise, there shall be an unlimited number of Super Overs played to achieve a result.

If following a tie, weather conditions prevent the Super Over from being completed, or if the match is abandoned or a no result, the teams shall be declared joint winners.


Get the latest updates