Download The Official T20 World Cup App

Find Out More

The ICC T20 World Cup is the flagship international Twenty20 tournament, organised by the International Cricket Council. The first men’s competition took place in September 2007, with India winning the inaugural title. The next edition took place in 2009 in England and saw the introduction of the women’s tournament that ran concurrently with the men’s.

The next edition will be held in Australia in 2020, with the women’s competition to take place in February-March, with the men’s tournament following in October-November.

Sixteen teams will participate in the men’s event. Ten ICC Full Members qualify automatically, the top eight from the ICC T20 rankings go directly into the Super 12 stage and the bottom two join six qualifiers in the Group Stage. This features two groups of four with the top two teams in each group progressing to the Super 12. The T20 World Cup Qualifier takes place approximately 12 months prior to the event to identify the six qualifying teams for the Group Stage.

Ten teams participate in the women’s event; the top eight teams according to finishing position in the 2018 tournament in the West Indies and the top two teams from the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup event.

The eighth men’s edition will then take place in 2021, replacing the previously scheduled ICC Champions Trophy.

Men’s Champions
2007: India
2009: Pakistan
2010: England
2012: West Indies
2014: Sri Lanka
2016: West Indies

Women’s Champions
2009: England
2010: Australia
2012: Australia
2014: Australia
2016: West Indies
2018: Australia

Click here to register for tickets to Australia 2020!